BLS Technical Advisory Committee (BLSTAC)

The Bureau of Labor Statistics Technical Advisory Committee (BLSTAC) advises the Commissioner of Labor Statistics on statistical methodology and other technical matters related to the collection and analysis of BLS data.

Charter of the Technical Advisory Committee

The members of the Technical Advisory Committee are:

  • Alberto Cavallo, Cecil and Ida Green Associate Professor of Applied Economics, Sloan School of Management, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Carol Corrado, Senior Advisor and Research Director, Economics Program, The Conference Board
  • Steven Heeringa, Senior Research Scientist, Institute for Social Research, University of Michigan
  • Bart Hobijn, Professor of Economics, W.P. Carey School of Business, Arizona State University
  • Nicholas Horton, Professor of Statistics, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Amherst College
  • Susan Houseman, Senior Economist, W.E. Upjohn Institute for Employment Research
  • Chinhui Juhn, Henry Graham Professor of Economics, Department of Economics, University of Houston
  • Adriana Kugler, Professor of Public Policy, McCourt School of Public Policy, Georgetown University
  • Bruce Meyer, McCormick Foundation Professor, Harris School of Public Policy Studies, University of Chicago
  • Emi Nakamura, Associate Professor of Business and Economics, Columbia Business School, Columbia University
  • Pia Orrenius, Vice President and Senior Economist, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
  • William Rodgers, Professor of Public Policy, Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy, Rutgers University
  • Nora Cate Schaeffer, Sewell Bascom Professor of Sociology, Department of Sociology, University of Wisconsin
  • Daniel Sullivan, Executive Vice President and Director of Research, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
  • Brady T. West, Research Assistant Professor, Survey Research Center, Institute for Social Research, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor

Technical Advisory Committee Meetings

The Technical Advisory Committee expects to meet two times during each year. Currently scheduled meetings are:

  • June 16, 2017
  • November 17, 2017

November 18, 2016

June 17, 2016

November 20, 2015

May 15, 2015

November 21, 2014

June 20, 2014

November 8, 2013

June 21, 2013

November 9, 2012

June 15, 2012


For more information on the Technical Advisory Committee, please contact


 Last Modified Date: December 12, 2016