Related BLS programs | Related articles
January 1989, Vol. 112, No. 1
State workers' compensation: enactments in 1988
LaVerne C. Tinsley
Although a moderate number of amendments affecting State workers' compensation programs were enacted into law by State legislatures during the year, there was little major legislation.
As in previous years, new coverage is still being established for specified volunteer employees in hazardous occupations. Elective coverage is being extended to sole proprietors, partners, and corporate officers. Prison inmates also are being covered under certain conditions.
Maximum weekly compensation levels for total disability and death were increased in 43 States, the District of Columbia, and the Virgin Islands.
The State of Washington raised the percentage of the State average weekly wage upon which benefit levels are based to 100 percent from 75 percent. Legislation in Mississippi mandated that benefit levels be based on 66 2/3-percent of the State average weekly wage, thus eliminating the statutory amounts previously established. Oklahoma statutorily raised maximum weekly benefits for disability and death effective July 1, 1988, through July 1, 1990. Alaska eliminated the linkage of its maximum weekly benefits to the State average weekly wage. Compensation rates remain frozen in three States.
This excerpt is from an article published in the January 1989 issue of the Monthly Labor Review. The full text of the article is available in Adobe Acrobat's Portable Document Format (PDF). See How to view a PDF file for more information.
Read abstract Download full text in PDF (581K)
Within Monthly Labor Review Online:
Welcome | Current Issue | Index | Subscribe | Archives
Exit Monthly Labor Review Online:
BLS Home | Publications & Research Papers