
Workers' compensation : 
1986 State enactments 
The year was particularly busy in the field 
of workers' compensation legislation ; 
coverage, benefit levels, and funding practices 
all were subject to change, and a number 
of States mandated the continued review 
of their programs by special oversight committees 

LAVERNE C. TINSLEY 

During 1986, regular legislative sessions were held in all 
States except Arkansas, Montana, Nevada, New Hamp-
shire, North Dakota, Oregon, and Texas. The year was an 
exceptional one for enactment of State workers' compensa-
tion legislation with the passage of 160 laws, compared with 
136 enactments in 1984 . Traditionally, fewer amendments 
become law during even-numbered years . 
Nineteen laws were changed either to allow coverage of 

certain persons who were previously excluded or to totally 
eliminate certain coverages . 
The proportion of the State average weekly wage on 

which benefits are based was changed from 100 percent to 
150 percent in Vermont. New Mexico froze its average 
weekly wage for 2 years. Additionally, Oklahoma enacted 
legislation which provides for the average weekly wage in 
the State to be changed once every 3 years, rather than 
annually . 

Arkansas will gradually increase benefit levels beginning 
July l, 1986, through December 1988, On January 1, 1989, 
maximum weekly benefits will change from a statutory 
amount to 663 percent of the State average weekly wage . 

Three States changed their maximum compensation peri-
ods for disability . Oklahoma passed an amendment to allow 
compensation payments for the first 7 calendar days of dis-
ability (formerly 3 days), with retroactive benefit payments 
for disabilities that extend beyond 21 days . 

Burial allowances were raised in Arkansas, Colorado, 
Rhode Island, Tennessee, and West Virginia . 
The State of Washington added an offset of temporary 

and permanent total disability benefits for persons receiving 
retirement benefits under the Federal Old Age, Survivors, 
Disability, and Health Insurance Act. 

In November 1986, a ratified constitutional amendment 
in New Mexico changed the workers' compensation pro-
gram from a court-administered system to an administrative 
system. Other enactments included changes in medical and 
vocational rehabilitation benefits and services for injured 
workers, and penalties and fines to be imposed on employ-
ers and carriers, as well as employees, for various viola-
tions. 
A number of States extended the lives of committees 

previously formed to review their workers' compensation 
systems and determine needed reforms. Supplementary 
funding was also provided for various State funds. 

Following is a State-by-State summary of enacted legisla-
tion . 

LaVeme C. Tinsley is a State standards adviser in the Office of State 
Liaison and Legislative Analysis, Employment Standards Administration, 
U .S . Department of Labor. 

67 



MONTHLY LABOR REVIEW January 1987 * Changes in State Workers' Compensation Laws 

Alaska 

Sole proprietors and partners may now 
elect workers' compensation coverage for 
themselves . Commercial fishermen and en-
tertainers who are employed on a contrac-
tual basis have been eliminated from cover-
age . 

Arizona 
Employers who fail to secure coverage for 
their employees may be assessed a civil 
penalty, not to exceed $500, by the Indus-
trial Commission . 

Arkansas 

Municipalities with 70,000 citizens or 
more now may cover their officials and em-
ployees through self-insurance, in addition 
to insuring with private carriers . 
Maximum weekly compensation for 

total disability and death was increased to 
$175 from $154 on July 1, 1986, and will 
change again to $189 for the period July 1, 
1987, through December 31, 1988 . Begin-
ning January 1, 1989, through December 
31, 1989, weekly benefits will be based on 
663 percent of the State average weekly 
wage . On January 1, 1990, the percentage 
will increase to 70 percent . Benefit 
amounts previously were set statutorily . 
Minimum weekly compensation for all dis-
ability and death was raised to $20, from 
$15 . 
Time limits on compensation for sched-

ule injuries have been extended . Under cer-
tain conditions, additional compensation 
may be authorized for nonschedule in-
juries . 

The allowance for funerals was in-
creased from $1,500 to $3,000 . 

Awards for total disability where injury 
was the result of a health or safety violation 
by the employer will be increased by 25 
percent, formerly 15 percent . 
The Workers' Compensation Commis-

sion was authorized to allocate $100,000 
for a special project with the overall goal of 
improving workplace safety and reducing 
the frequency of on-the-job injuries . 

Employers' liability for compensation 
may be discharged by the payment of a 
lump sum equal to the present value of fu-
ture payments discounted at 10 percent 
(formerly 7 percent) annually . No lump-
sum settlement will be permitted if the em-
ployer's economic viability is adversely af-
fected . 
The Commission now has authority to 

establish maximum fees for medical serv-
ices . 
The penalty assessed against employers 

who make late compensation payments was 
raised to 18 percent from 10 percent. 

California 

A sum of $2,287,000 was transferred from 
the Employment Development Department 
Contingent Fund to the Uninsured Employ-
ers' Fund to cover anticipated deficiencies 
in' workers' compensation benefit pay-
ments . 

Colorado 
The burial allowance was increased from 
$1,000 to $2,000 . Additionally, costs for 
burial can now be paid directly to the ceme-
tery, to the undertaker, or to anyone who 
has paid funeral and burial costs . 

Disabling mental or emotional stress is 
not covered unless it can be shown by com-
petent evidence that the stress was brought 
on solely by the hazards of the employment 
to which the worker would not have been 
equally exposed outside the employment . 
A convict is ineligible for benefits for 

any week during which such person is in-
carcerated, unless benefits have been as-
signed to the spouse or minor children . 
The Industrial Commission was abol-

ished and its functions, powers, and duties 
have been transferred to the State's Depart-
ment of Labor and Employment . An Office 
of Industrial Claims Appeals was estab-
lished within the Department and will be 
responsible for conducting administrative 
appellate reviews of workers' compensa-
tion claims . 

Connecticut 
Legislation was passed to promote the hir-
ing of workers with permanent vocational 
disabilities . 
The attorney general was given authority 

to bring a civil action to enjoin employers 
from entering into employment contracts if 
they fail to secure compensation payments . 
Workers' compensation commissioners 
were also given authority to assess civil 
penalties of up to $1,000 when employers 
fail to comply with insurance requirements . 

Assessments charged employers or in-
surers for funding the Second Injury Fund 
were increased from 3 .5 percent to 5 per-
cent . 

Recovery of compensation payments 
from the Second Injury and Compensation 
Assurance Fund on behalf of an employer 
or insurer who fails to make, or who is 
unable to make, such payments will be 
made by the same means as provided by 
law for the collection of taxes due the State . 

Delaware 
Injured employees are newly entitled to re-
placement of hearing aids whenever neces-
sary, as well as to other medical services 
and supplies . 

Georgia 
The State constitution has been amended to 
provide compensation for any law enforce-
ment officer, firefighter, prison guard, or 
publicly employed emergency medical 
technician who is, or at any time in the past 
was, permanently disabled or killed in the 
line of duty . 
A Workers' Compensation Coverage 

Study Committee was created to examine 
coverage and certain other aspects of the 
workers' compensation law . 

Hawaii 
Group self-insured pools may now be es-
tablished by five or more employers of a 
nonprofit unincorporated association who 
are engaged in the same or a similar busi-
ness, and by members of a bona fide trade 
or professional association having been in 
existence for at least 5 years . 

Idaho 
Employer payments to the Industrial Spe-
cial Indemnity Account in nondependency 
death cases have been increased to $10,000 
from $5,000 . 

Foreign or alien insurers who file re-
quests to underwrite workers' compensa-
tion insurance are permitted to deposit sav-
ings certificates, totaling at least $25,000, 
as security with the State treasurer. 

Illinois 
A Self-Insurers Advisory Board was cre-
ated within the Industrial Commission to 
provide for the continuation of compensa-
tion benefits that are unpaid or interrupted 
because of the insolvency of a private self-
insured employer. Further, a Self-Insurers 
Security Fund was established to compen-
sate injured employees when benefits can-
not be paid because of employer insol-
vency . 

Iowa 
Elective coverage was established for a 
proprietor or partner who is engaged in his 
or her business full time . 

Workers injured while undergoing em-
ployment evaluation or training at a reha-
bilitation facility may receive minimum 
weekly benefits for disability at an amount 
equal to 35 percent of the State average 
weekly wage in effect at the time of the 
injury . 

The provision requiring an employee's 
most recent employer to pay compensation 
in cases where exposure to pneumoconiosis 
occurred for a period of at least 60 days was 
repealed . The ruling applies to claims filed 
for compensation on or after July 1, 1986 . 
The occupational disease medical board 

was eliminated and the industrial commis- 
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sinner given authority to designate the in-
dustrial hygiene physician and two physi-
cians selected by the dean of the college of 
medicine of the State University of Iowa to 
investigate occupational diseases . 

Kansas 
Coverage was broadened to include per-
sons performing community service work, 
if a request for so doing is made to and 
accepted by the workers' compensation di-
rector . Qualified real estate agents have 
been eliminated from coverage . 

Kentucky 
Volunteer ambulance service personnel are 
now eligible for workers' compensation 
coverage . 

Beginning July 15, 1986, all claims for 
asbestos-related disease must be filed 
within 20 years of exposure . 
A task force was formed to conduct a 

4-month comprehensive study of the 
State's workers' compensation system . 
Findings and recommendations of the task 
force were to be reported to the Governor 
and the Legislative Research Commission 
by October 1, 1986 . 

Procedures were modified and costs ad-
justed for those employers who carry their 
own risks and pay maintenance fund taxes . 

Louisiana 
Chiropractors now have the same rights as 
other medical doctors to recover fees for 
services rendered to injured workers . Med-
ical doctors and chiropractors may recover 
payment of fees for services provided in-
jured workers in the same way that hospi-
tals do, upon compliance with certain pro-
cedures . 

Injured employees are allowed to be ex-
amined by a physician of their choice and at 
their own expense . Any medical report pro-
vided by a private physician in such cases 
must also be considered in determining the 
employee's fitness to return to work . 
Any facts or documents contained in an 

employee's medical records must be made 
accessible to the employee or, on behalf of 
the employee, to his or her representative . 

Maine 
Participants in sheltered workshops at facil-
ities certified by the U.S . Department of 
Labor under regulations covering employ- 
ment of handicapped clients are excluded 
from the minimum compensation for total 
disability under the State's workers' com-
pensation law. 

Costs for medical aids must be paid 
within 90 days after a request for payment 
has been made . 

Full-time firefighters who file a claim for 

an occupationally related cancer and whose 
last injurious exposure was to a carcinogen 
are exempt from the 3-year statute-of-
limitations for claim filing . 
The Workers' Compensation Commis-

sion was required to conduct a study re-
garding delays in the workers' compensa-
tion system and the psychological and 
financial harm suffered by injured workers 
and their families as a result of any delay in 
receiving benefits . 

Maryland 
Compensation awards may be paid from 
the Uninsured Employers' Fund if the em-
ployer does not make such payments when 
due or does not apply for review before the 
Workmen's Compensation Commission . 

Insurers are required to give claimants 
written notification concerning the termina-
tion of their temporary total disability bene-
fits . 
The provision which prohibits payment 

of compensation in a lump sum after 
$45,000 in compensation has been paid 
was deleted from the law . 

Minnesota 
For coverage purposes, the earnings of 
household workers during a 3-month pe-
riod must be at least $1,000, previously 
$500 . Independent contractors may be 
charged a fee for coverage under certain 
conditions . 

"Daily wage" was changed to "weekly 
wage" for computing death benefits . 

Mississippi 
The insurance premium charged employers 
for funding the Second Injury Fund was 
increased from one-half of 1 percent to 
1 percent of the total compensation actually 
paid during the previous calendar year . 

Nebraska 
The name of the Nebraska law was changed 
from "Workmen's Compensation Act" to 
"Workers' Compensation Act," and "work-
men's" was changed to "workers"' 
throughout the law . 

New Jersey 
Coverage was broadened to include mem-
bers of first aid or rescue squads when re-
sponding to and returning from an emer-
gency . Formerly, only navel by police 
officers and firefighters was covered . 

New Mexico 
A resolution was enacted to establish a 
workers' compensation administrative body 
in place of the court-administered system 
for determining the rights and liabilities of 

employers and of employees who sustain 
work-related injuries . 

The State average weekly wage ($308.28) 
has been frozen through June 30, 1987 . 
New procedures have been established 

concerning enforcement mechanisms in 
cases where benefit payments are in de-
fault . 

Employers may require an employee to 
submit to a physical examination at any 
time during his or her employment . 

Third-party suits are permitted for in-
juries caused by negligence, and the em-
ployer has subrogation rights in such cases . 

Attorneys' fees are restricted to 20 per-
cent of the first $5,000, 15 percent of the 
next $5,000, and 10 percent of any remain-
ing benefits secured . 

New York 
Elective coverage is allowed for members 
of auxiliary police organizations at the op-
tion of the municipal corporation and for 
employees of registered voluntary ambu-
lance services . Corporate officers are al-
lowed coverage if an election is made in the 
insurance contract . Under certain condi-
tions, a professional musician or a person 
otherwise engaged in the performing arts 
may be covered . Licensed real estate bro-
kers or sales associates are excluded from 
coverage . 
The Workers' Compensation Board has 

authority to impose penalties on carriers or 
employers, for engaging in dilatory tactics 
or for exhibiting an unjustified lack of pre-
paredness regarding hearings . If good 
cause is shown by the employer or carrier, 
the penalty may be excused . 

Employers seeking to become self-insur-
ers may be required to deposit cash in an 
amount not exceeding $100,000 as an alter-
native to certain securities, or to deposit a 
surety bond . 

Hospitals or health maintenance organi-
zations with certain credentials for provid-
ing outpatient medical care must be ap-
proved by the Chairman of the Workers' 
Compensation Board . 

Ohio 

An International Tort Fund was established 
under the custody of the State Treasurer . 
All employers are required to make annual 
payments to the Fund at a rate set by the 
Industrial Commission . The Commission is 
required to make rules governing claims 
against and disbursements from the Fund . 
The Self-Insuring Employers' Surety Bond 
Fund was created and is also under the 
custody of the State Treasurer and the con-
trol of the Commission . Monies for the 
Fund will come from self-insuring employ-
ers who purchase bonds to secure the pay- 
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ment of workers' compensation benefits South Carolina Utah 

Oklahoma 
Mandatory coverage of an owner-operator 
who owns or leases a truck-tractor was re-
moved; however, such persons may elect 
coverage under the law. 

Benefit payments may now be received 
for the first 7 calendar days of disability, 
formerly 3 days . If disability continues be-
yond the 21st calendar day, formerly the 
third day, benefit payments will be com-
puted from the date of such disability . 
The maximum period for payment of 

temporary total disability and temporary 
partial disability was reduced from 300 
weeks to 150 weeks . An extension may be 
granted by the court . 
The definition of persons considered as 

"physically impaired" now specifically in-
cludes those persons who have suffered the 
loss of sight in one eye, or the loss by 
amputation of the whole, or a part, of a 
major member of the body . Previously, in-
jury to any part of the body or a specific 
member was covered . Permanent partial 
disability from more than one injury must 
result in the loss of more than 17 percent of 
body function before compensation may be 
received from the Special Indemnity Fund . 
A new schedule was established for use in 
determining costs for medical treatment 
and services . 

The penalty for untimely temporary total 
disability benefit payments will now be 
computed as 15 percent of the award in 
certain cases . Penalties were modified for 
wrongful discharge of an employee who 
has filed a claim for compensation . Em-
ployers who fail to secure required in-
surance coverage will now be subject to a 
fine . 
The Workers' Compensation Court is re-

quired to adopt rules governing group self-
insurance associations that pool their liabil-
ities to provide specific and aggregate 
excess insurance for workers' compensa-
tion . 

Rhode Island 
In cases of death, dependent children are 
each entitled to $1S weekly, formerly $9 . 
Surviving spouses are entitled to annual 
cost-of-living raises of 4 percent, effective 
on the anniversary date of the initial benefit 
payment . 
The allowance for burial was raised from 

$3,000 to $5,000 . 
A Special Legislative Commission was 

authorized to continue studying the feasi-
bility of creating a State-controlled work-
ers' compensation program . A report on the 
study must be submitted to the general as-
sembly on or before May 1, 1987 . 

Minimum weekly compensation for tempo-
rary and permanent total disability was in-
creased from $25 to $75 ; however, benefits 
may not exceed the employee's average 
weekly wages . 
A provision was added to the law which 

prohibits an employer from dismissing or 
demoting an employee who has instituted 
any claims proceedings in good faith, or 
who has taken part in any claims proceed-
ings. 

Appointment of a guardian ad litem is 
allowed for a minor or mentally incom-
petent person who is a party in a proceeding 
before the Workers' Compensation Com-
mission . 
The name of the South Carolina Indus-

trial Commission was changed to "South 
Carolina Workers' Compensation Commis-
sion ." 

Employers or carriers who refuse or ne-
glect to submit any required forms, 
records, or reports that are necessary for 
proper adjudication of a claim will be sub-
ject to a $l00 fine for each offense, for-
merly $50 . 

South Dakota 
Defendants who are sentenced to commu-
nity service restitution are exempt from 
coverage . 

Permanent hearing loss caused by exces-
sive noise exposure on the job is now cov-
ered . New standards have been set for de-
termining percentage of hearing loss . The 
law now provides that no compensation is 
payable for temporary total or temporary 
partial hearing loss and for tinnitus, or if 
the employee has failed to use protective 
devices provided by the employer . 

The maximum compensation period for 
job-related total hearing loss is 150 weeks, 
and for partial losses in proportion to 150 
weeks . Claims for hearing loss after July 1, 
1974, where the employee has been re-
moved from the injurious exposure for 
more than 6 months, must be made within 
a specified 2-year period or be barred 
forever . 

Tennessee 

The maximum allowance for burial was 
raised from $2,000 to $3,000 . 
An enactment replaced the American 

Medical Association Guides to the Evalua-
tion of Permanent Impairment with the 
Manual for Orthopedic Surgeons in Evalu-
ating Permanent Physical Impairment or 
the American Medical Association Guides 
to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment 
as a basis for determining the impairment 
rating of a claimant . 

The Workers' Compensation Fund of Utah 
was established to insure employers against 
liability for compensation when work-
related injuries and diseases occur, and to 
assure payment of benefits to qualifying 
employees . Previously, employers were in-
sured through the State Insurance Fund . 
New assessments have been authorized 

for all self-insured employers to cover costs 
of benefits paid to employees of insolvent 
self-insured employers . 

The Default Indemnity Fund has been 
redesignated as the "Uninsured Employers' 
Fund." 

Vermont 
The percentage of the State average weekly 
wage upon which benefits are based was 
raised to 150 percent from 100 percent . 

In case of death, the surviving spouse is 
entitled to compensation of at least 330 
times the maximum weekly benefit 
amount . Dependent children are entitled to 
unlimited death benefits during depen-
dency ; formerly, their benefits were limited 
to 330 weeks . 

Burial expenses are permitted up to a 
maximum of $2,000, previously $1,000 . 
New legislation stipulates that no person 

may be discharged from or discriminated 
against in his or her employment because a 
claim for benefits has been filed . 
The fine was raised from $100 to $150 

for each day of neglect after 30 days that an 
employer fails to secure his or her workers' 
compensation insurance liability . 

Virginia 
Occupational disease coverage was broad-
ened to include diseases not ordinarily con-
sidered job related if it can be established 
by clear and convincing evidence that such 
a disease arose out of and in the course of 
employment . 
The method used in determining cost-of-

living supplementary benefit payments for 
recipients of total disability benefits was 
changed under both the Workers' Compen-
sation Act and the Federal Old Age, Sur-
vivors, Disability, and Health Insurance 
Act for cases in which disability or death 
occurred on or after July 1, 1975 . 

For purposes of establishing a valid 
claim, "sexual assault" now includes the 
criminal law definitions of "aggravated 
sexual battery" and "sexual battery ." 

Washington 
For coverage purposes, the definition of 
"child" was modified to include a child 
born after the employee's injury where con-
ception occurred prior to injury . 

Self-insurers are required to pay $10,000 
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Table 1 . Jurisdictions which increased maximum weekly temporary total disability benefits during 1986 

Jurisdiction Former maximum New maximum JurlsdieUon Former maximum Now maximum 

Alabama. . . . . . . . . . . $303.00 $319 .00 Nevada . . . . . . . . . . . . $332.46 $341 .95 
Arkansas . . . . . . . . . . . $154.00 $175 .00 New Hampshire . . . . . $462.00 $492.00 
Colorado . . . . . . . . . . 
Connecticut . . . . . . . . . 

$336.00 
$397.00, plus $10 for each de- 

$351 .68 
$408 .00, plus $10 for each de- New Jersey . . . . . . . . . 

New Mexico 
$269.00 
$298 63 

$284.00 
$308 38 pendent under 18 years of age, pendent under 18 years of age, . . . . . . . . 

firth Carolina 
. 

E280 00 
. 

$294 00 up to 50 percent of basic benefit, 
not to exceed 75 percent of em- 

up to 50 percent of basic benefit, 
not to exceed 75 percent of em- .

. . . . . . 
firth Dakota . . . . . . . 

. 
$291 .00, plus $5 for each de- 

. 
$296.00, plus $9 for each de- 

ployee's wage ployee's wage pendent aggregate not to ex- 
' ~~~g 

~atW~ to ex- 
ceed worker s net wages 

Delaware . . . . . . . . . . $235.69 $24422 
tea District of Columbia . . . $413 .26 $431 .70 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
Oregon . . . . . . . . . . . . $334 .58 $344.77 

Florida . . . . . . . . . . . . 
Georgia . . . . . . . . . . . 

$307 .00 
$155 .00 

$315.00 
$175.00 Pennsylvania . . . . . . . $336 .00 $347.00 

Hawaii . . . . . . . . . . . . $291 .00 $299 .00 Rhode Island . . . . . . . $307 .00, plus $9 tar each de- $320.00, plus $9 for each de- 
Idaho . . . . . . . . . . . . . $260 .00 to $361 .23, according $269 .00 to $373.75, according 

pendent ; aggregate rat to ex- pendent; aggregate not to ex- 
' to number of dependents, plus to number of dependents, plus geed 80 Percent of workers coed 80 percent of worker s 

7 percent of State's average 7 percent of State's average average weekly wage average weekly wage 

weekly wage for each child up to weekly wage for each child up to South Carolina . . . . . . $287 .02 $294 .95 
5 children 5 children South Dakota . . . . . . . $254 .00 $262 .00 

Illinois . . . . . . . . . . . . . $511 .81 $525 .45 Tennessee . . . . . . . . . 
Texas . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

$168 .00 
$217 .00 

$189 .00 
$224 .00 

Indiana . . . . . . . . . . . . 
Iowa . . . . . . . . . . . 

$178 .00 
$598 .00 

$190 .00 
$613 .00 Utah . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $323 .00, plus $5 for dependent $329 .00, plus $5 to dependent . . . 

Kansas . . . . . . . . . . $239 .00 $247 .00 spouse and each dependent spouse and each dependent . . 
Kentucky . . . . . . . . . . . $304 .80 $31g .sq child up to 4 children, but not to 

' 
child up to 4 children, but rat to 

' Louisiana . . . . . . . . . . $254 .00 $261 .00 exceed 100 percent of State s exceed 100 percent of State s 

Maryland . . . . . . . . . . . $327 .00 $344 .00 average weekly wage average weekly wage 

Massachusetts . . . . . . $360 .50, plus $6 for each de- $357 .00, plus $6 for each de- Vermont . . . . . . . . . . . $293.00, plus $10 for each de- $465 .00, plus $10 for each de- 
pendent, if weekly benefits are pendent, if weekly benefits are pendent under age 21 pendent under age 21 
below $150 below $150 Virgin Islands . . . . . . . $183.00 $187 .00 

Michigan . . . . . . . . . . . $358.00 $375 .00 Virginia . . . . . . . . . . . . 
Washington . . . . . . . . . 

$311 .00 
$260.00 

$326.00 
$269.70 Minnesota . . . . . . . . . . 

Mississippi . . . . . . . . . 
$342.00 
$133.00 

$360 .00 
$140 .00 West Virginia . . . . . . . $332.83 $343.06 

Missouri . . . . . . . . . . . $233.84 $243 .78 Wisconsin . . . . . . . . . . 
Wyoming 

$321 .00 
$353 00 

$329.00 
$376 80 Montana . . . . . . . . . . . $292.00 $299.00 . . . . . . . . . . . . 

Nebraska . . . . . . . . . . $200.00 $225.00 

NOTE : Most benefit increases are based on the applicable jurisdiction's average weekly a the nine Slates (Arizona and California) made no changes in the benefit amounts. Two States 
monthly wage. However, nine States (Arizona, Arkansas, California, Georgia, Indiana, Mississippi, (Maine and Oklahoma) froze benefit levels for a period of 2 and 3 years respectively . In one State 
Nebraska, New York, and Tennessee) and Puerto Rico prescribe statutory amounts. Only two of (Alaska), the maximum weekly benefit remained the same. 

into the Supplemental Pension Fund for no-
dependency death cases due to occupa-
tional disease, just as they are required to 
do in cases of injury . 

Benefits were increased for losses result-
ing from amputation . The maximum 
amount payable for total bodily impairment 
was increased to $90,000, previously 
$60,000 . Compensation for all unspecified 
permanent partial disability resulting from 
the same injury was raised from a maxi-
mum of $60,000 to $90,000 and unspeci-
fied injuries to the back resulting from the 
same injury may not exceed a maximum of 
$67,500, formerly $45,000 . 
A self-insured employer is permitted to 

close claims (accepted after June 30, 1986, 
and before July 1, 1988) involving medical 
treatment only and/or payment of tempo-
rary disability compensation after the 
worker has returned to work. 

By enactment, a regulatory and inspec-
tion program covering health services for 
the industrially injured worker was estab-
lished . The new law gives the Director of 
the State Department of Labor and Indus-
tries permission to inspect and audit all 

medical, dental, vocational, or other health 
services and records of injured workers . 

Authority was given to the Department 
of Labor and Industries to conduct a study 
of permanent disabilities and possible 
methods for restoring an injured worker to 
self-supporting, able-bodied status . 
A Joint Select Committee on Industrial 

Insurance was established to review and 
analyze the State's industrial insurance sys-
tem and to monitor the implementation of 
recommendations made by previous com-
mittees on workers' compensation and in-
dustrial insurance . 

West Virginia 

Corporate officers are now allowed to elect 
workers' compensation coverage for them-
selves . 
A statutory limit of 90 days has been 

placed on awards for temporary total dis-
ability . 
The allowance for funeral expenses was 

increased from $2,500 to $3,500 . 
Payment of additional compensation to a 

recipient of a permanent total disability 

award of 85 percent or more is prohibited . 
The minimum percentage of disability 

for total loss of hearing in one ear was 
decreased from 25 percent to 222 percent . 
For total loss of hearing in both ears, the 
percentage was reduced from 65 percent to 
55 percent . 

Wisconsin 
No compromise agreement of liability for 
additional compensation relating to subse-
quent injury benefits that involves lump-
sum compensation payments is permitted . 

Wyoming 
An experience rating system was imple-
mented for determining employer premi-
ums for workers' compensation insurance . 

Medical consultants may be hired by the 
Workers' Compensation Division to review 
claims cases . 
An $800,000 appropriation was author-

ized for development and implementation 
of a computer system that can be used to 
administer the employer classification and 
rating system and to process claims . 
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